EHS seniors named scholarship finalists

Twelve Edina High School seniors are finalists for National Merit Scholarships.

The students are Yasmeen Almog, Emily Cherkassky, Sarah Downey, Elise Georis, Jessica Hankes, Andrea Kimball, Kathleen McDonald, Leslie Mei, Grace Meyer, Hunter Pribyl-Hugeuelet and Anisha Singh.

The PSAT test is the qualifier for the National Merit Scholarship Program. Of those who qualify, 15,000 students are finalists nationally based on their score, their academic record in high school, recommendations by the high school principal and an SAT score that confirms their earlier test performance.