EP Nordic skiers are state title threats

It has been a successful season thus far for Eden Prairie High School’s Nordic ski teams. One of the Eagles’ season highlights came at the Mesabi East Invitational Jan. 12.
Eden Prairie’s boys team placed first and the girls squad was fourth.
Individually, the Eagles’ Tom Bye was second in the skate race while teammates Mitch Stenoin and Andrew Etteldorf were 15th and 51st respectively.
In the classic race, Ryan Stewart placed sixth and Jay Grootwassink was seventh. Henry Zurn placed 10th.
Bri Paulson was fourth in the girls classic race and Eagle teammate Eryn Stewart finished fifth. Caroline Mueller placed 73rd.
Jenna Arvidson was 21st in the skate race. Erica Gardner placed 27th and Melssa Berman finished 58th.
“Several of our skiers were coming off illnesses before we entered the Mesabi Invitational,” said Eden Prairie coach Doug Boonstra. “But we skied very well in tht meet.
“Tom Bye and Eryn Stewart have been two of our top skiers this season. But we have a lot of great leaders on both teams.”
Eden Prairie’s No. 1-ranked boys team took first in the second Lake Conference classic meet Jan. 15 at Elm Creek Park Reserve. The Eagles had 573 points while Hopkins finished with 536 points. Wayzata was third (498).
Eden Prairie’s top finishers were Bye (first), Grootwasink (third, Ryan Stewart (sixth) and Andrew Etteldorf (seventh).
Eden Prairie’s girls team was second (558) and finished behind Wayzata (565). Hopkins placed third (454).
Eryn Stewart was second and Arvidson finished third. Eden Prairie’s other leading skiers were Briana Paulsen (seventh), Erica Gardner (eighth) and Micayla Batchlor (12th).
Eden Prairie also competed in a Lake Conference freestyle meet Jan. 7 at Theodore Wirth Park. The Eagle boys team was first and the girls squad finished second.
Grootwasink, Bye, Ryan Stewart, Zurn and Stenoin placed third through seventh.
Arvidson was fifth in the girls race and Paulsen placed sixth. Eryn Stewart was seventh. Other Eagle competitors were Caroline Mueller (18th) and Erica Gardner (24th).
Eden Prairie’s boys Nordic ski tri-captains are Zurn, Grootwasink and Ryan Stewart. The Eagles’ girls tri-captains are Mueller, Madison Sligh and Arvidson.

Contact Greg Kleven at [email protected]